Countdown Begins To SMMT’S Award For Automotive Innovation 2011

29th July 2011
Source: SMMT
Posted By : ES Admin
Countdown Begins To SMMT’S Award For Automotive Innovation 2011
Motor industry trade body, the SMMT, is calling on all automotive innovators to finalise their submission for SMMT’s Award for Automotive Innovation, as there are just five weeks until the submission deadline passes on midnight 24 August 2011.
Sponsored by GKN Driveline, the Award recognises innovations within UK automotive manufacturing, retail, design and engineering, acknowledging ideas that have already benefitted, or have the potential to deliver, automotive excellence.

“This Award sets the standard in innovative design, engineering and technology, highlighting the capabilities of UK automotive,” said Paul Everitt, SMMT Chief Executive. Innovations in safety technology and fuel efficiency have transformed our sector and through this Award, SMMT is seeking to demonstrate the contribution the UK makes to this diverse global sector.”

A panel of leading industry experts, which includes; Jerry Hardcastle, Vice President, Vehicle Design and Development, Nissan and Ralph Hosier, Chartered Engineer and motoring journalist and Paul Everitt, SMMT Chief Executive, will judge this year’s Award, following presentations from the shortlisted entrants.

Last year’s Award was presented to Gordon Murray Design for the iStream©, which wowed judges with its innovative approach to manufacturing. It uses disruptive technology for large-scale vehicle production, reducing costs and its environmental impact and has since gone on to form the basis of the T.25 and a prototype electric vehicle, the T.27, which was unveiled earlier this year.

Shortlisted entries receive industry recognition within one of the UK’s most diverse and exciting industries and the winner will be presented with the Award at SMMT’s 95th Annual Dinner on 22 November 2011 at the London Hilton, Park Lane, in front of over 800 senior industry executives.

SMMT’s Award for Automotive Innovation 2011 is free to enter and for more information about the Award, entry criteria and last year’s winner, go to

You must be logged in to comment

Write a comment

No comments

Sign up to view our publications

Sign up

Sign up to view our downloads

Sign up

ELIV 2019
16th October 2019
Germany Bonn World Conference Center